CSAW'17 Judges

Applied Research

Final Judges

Kris Ambrose | Principal Research Engineer, BAE Systems, Inc. 

Gerard Brady | Global Chief Information Officer, Morgan Stanley

Rafi Buchnick | US Head of Tech Risk Services, Capital Markets, Royal Bank of Canada

Christian Buia | Principal Threat Analyst, Bridgewater Associates

Ta-Wei Chen | Executive Director, Cybersecurity Architecture, JPMorgan Chase & Co. 

Boaz Gelbord | Bloomberg

Adam Mattina | Vice President and Deputy CISO, Blackstone

Bill McDonald | Director of Human Resources, IBM Security

David Mordecai | Lead Investigator, RiskEcon Lab for Decision Metrics, NYU Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences; President and co-founder, Risk Economics, Inc. 

Jiangxia Liu | Security Research Fellow, Palo Alto Networks

Ramin Safai | CISO, Jefferies

Carol Siegel | The Ruth and Jerome A. Siegel Foundation

M.J. Vaidya | Partner/Principal, Advisory Services, Ernst & Young

John Viega | Co-founder and CEO, Capsule8

Preliminary Judges

Devdatta Akhawe | Engineering Manager, Dropbox

Frederico Araujo | Research Scientist, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, CSAW14 Finalist

Joseph Bonneau | Postdoctoral Researcher, Stanford University

Justin Cappos | Professor, NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Bill Cheswick | Visiting Scholar, University of Pennsylvania

Brendan Dolan-Gavitt | Assistant Professor, NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Saverio Fazzari | Associate, Booz Allen Hamilton

Paul Giura | Security Researcher, AT&T

Xiaofei Guo | Technical Leader, Cisco Tetration Analytics

Sungmin Hong | PhD Student, Texas A&M University, CSAW16 Finalist

Amir Houmansadr | Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Trammell Hudson | VP, Two Sigma Investments

Haadi Jafarian | Assistant Professor, University of Colorado Denver

Shweta Jain | Associate Professor, John Jay College of Criminal Justice & Graduate Center CUNY

Markus Jakobsson | Chief Scientist, Agari

Suman Jana | Assistant Professor, Columbia University

Trishank Karthik Kuppusamy | Chief Security Solutions Engineer, Datadog

David Kohlbrenner | PhD Student, University of California, San Diego, CSAW16 Finalist

Chris Lamb | Debian Developer, Debian

Carl Landwehr | Research Scientist, George Washington University

David Lawrence | Senior Software Engineer, Docker

Byoungyoung Lee | Assistant Professor, Purdue University, CSAW15 Finalist

Xiaojing Liao | Assistant Professor, College of William & Mary, CSAW16 Finalist

Chang Liu | PhD Candidate, University of Maryland, CSAW15 Finalist

Mohammad Mannan | Associate Professor, Concordia University

Hannes Mehnert | Research Associate, Cambridge / OCaml

Wei Meng | PhD Student, Georgia Institute of Technology, CSAW16 Finalist

Soo-Jin Moon | PhD Candidate, Carnegie Mellon University, CSAW15 Finalist

Collin Mulliner | Security Engineer, Square

Sai Teja Peddinti | Research Scientist, Google

Bart Preneel | Professor, University of Leuven

Rui Qiao | Google, Stony Brook University, CSAW16 Finalist

Mark Raugas | Director of CyberPoint Labs, University of Maryland

Scott Roberts | GitHub

Hassan Takabi | Assistant Professor, University of North Texas

Kurt Thomas | Research Scientist, Google

Tavish Vaidya | PhD Student, Georgetown University, CSAW16 Research Finalist

Terry Wang | Security Researcher, Intel

Gunnar Wolf | Debian Developer, Debian

Capture the Flag

Final Judges/Challenge Authors

Alexi Bulazel | River Loop Security, LLC

Nick Burnett | Ret2 Systems

Sophia D'Antoine | Senior Security Researcher, Trail of Bits

Markus Gaasedelen | Ret2 Systems

Xiaofei Guo | Technical Leader, Cisco Tetration Analytics

Mark Ignacio | Security Engineer, Facebook

Joe Kale | Cyber Engineer, Raytheon CSI

IPS Research at Palo Alto Networks 

Cody McMahon | Cyber Engineer, Raytheon CSI

Mikhail Sosonkin | Director of Research & Data, Synack

Shane Welch | Raytheon CSI

Preliminary Judges/Challenge Writers

Kevin Chung | CTFd LLC

Markus Gaasedelen | Ret2 Systems

Eric Liang

Chris Thompson

Embedded Security Challenge

Final Judges

Ryan Craven | Program Officer, US Office of Naval Research

Ang Cui | CEO and Chief Scientist, Red Balloon Security

Michael Locasto | Senior Computer Scientist, SRI International

Lok Yan | Computer Scientist, US Air Force Research Lab

Law & Policy

Competition Judges

Sam Adelsberg | former Special Counsel, FBI

Zach Goldman | Executive Director, Center on Law and Security and Adjunct Professor of Law, NYU School of Law.

Tariq Habib | CISO, Metropolitan Transit Authority

Samantha Kappagoda | Co-lead Investigator, RiskEcon Lab for Decision Metrics, NYU Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences; Chief Economist and Co-founder, Risk Economics, Inc.

Randy S. Milch | Adjunct Professor of Law, Distinguished Fellow at the Center on Law and Security at NYU School of Law and the NYU Center for Cybersecurity

Security Quiz


Erik Cabetas | Managing Partner, Include Security

Julian Cohen | Founder, Automatic Playbook Testing

Brandon Edwards | Co-Founder and Chief Scientist, Capsule8

Mandar Rege | SVP, Head of Enterpise Business Technology Risk, TD Bank Group