The 2nd annual Cyber Journalism Award recognizes excellence in reporting on cyber security across all journalistic categories. 

Professional journalists and student authors are encouraged to submit. The winner will be honored at the 15th annual CSAW conference on Thursday, November 8, 2018.

This competition is a joint project of the NYU Tandon School of Engineering and the NYU Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute.

This competition uses Submittable as our submission platform. Please click on the Submit button to access this system and to review the official competition rules, guidelines and prizes. Entrants who have never used Submittable will be requested to make an account. 


July 30, 2018: Submission Phase Opens

September 9, 2018, 11:59 a.m. ET: Submission Phase Closes

September 13, 2018, 11:59 a.m. ET: Submission Phase Extended Deadline 

By October 6, 2018: Winner announced 

CSAW'18 Cyber Journalism Award Winner


Jen Wieczner

Mt. Gox and the Surprising Redemption of Bitcoin’s Biggest Villain

Published April 19, 2018 in Fortune magazine 

Jen Wieczner is a senior writer at Fortune and co-founding editor of The Ledger, covering the intersection of finance and technology. Her recent writing includes an award-winning investigation into Paul Singer's activist hedge fund Elliott Management; a cover story on the Bitcoin bubble; and profiles of controversial business titans—from billionaire Steve Cohen to Mylan CEO Heather Bresch to former HP chief Meg Whitman. She has also been published in The Wall Street Journal, Time, Fast Company, The Atlantic, New York and Glamour. Born in Boston, Jen earned a bachelor’s degree from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism. @jenwieczner


Cyber Journalism Award Judges

Meredith Broussard | Assistant Professor, NYU Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute

Ramesh Karri | Professor, NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Charles Seife | Professor, NYU Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute